KISJ MS Library

Concerns over carbon production and diminishing fossil fuels are leading people and governments to explore cleaner forms of energy, such as wind power and solar power. This collection of articles looks at the forms of clean energy already in use as well as new, experimental forms that have not yet reached wide-scale usage. Furthermore, coverage addresses some of the controversies and unexpected effects of these new ways of producing the energy we need to survive. What is working, what isn't, and what might humans use for energy in the future?

Water is an essential part of life on Earth. But in some places, it's running our or it's too polluted to consume. Learn about water scarcity, pollution, it's impact on public health, and how to protect this diminishing resource. Also discover what steps you can take to help stop the drought.

This book chronicles how since the Neolithic era of the Stone Age, agricultural tools evolved from pointed digging sticks to electron microscopes. Weeds evolved into wheat, carrots, and more as humans selected and designed foods. People farmed sustainably since the last Ice Age with fire and fish traps, and more recently, agriculture has evolved to produce more for a growing worldwide population. Learning about problems from the past and the future that agricultural technology is meant to solve will help readers understand how applying critical thinking can change the world.

A large population creates a lot of garbage. But are composting and recycling really making a difference? This book will enlighten you about the garbage situation that we are facing, which not only includes mountains of food scraps and discarded possessions, but hazardous, toxic, and radioactive waste as well.

Modern medicine was no accident, except when it was. The history of medical innovation, which spans centuries, is filled with killer diseases, scientific inquiry, accidental discoveries, and brilliant machines. Readers will embark on a journey across time from Ancient Egypt to the twenty-first century, and learn about the creative mistakes and ingenious solutions physicians, scientists, and regular people devised to explore and heal the human body. As we prepare for the Next Generation Science Standards to enter our schools, curious minds will enjoy delving into the history of medical innovation.

This resource teaches readers about the fundamental science behind the Human Genome Project, the aim of which was to identify and map all of the genes in the human genome. Readers will learn the basics of DNA, genetics, and the human genome; important areas and the history of genetic research; and how our world has changed since the project.

This book covers the foundations of genes and heredity to give readers a solid understanding of what modern genetics has been built on, before examining the ways in which genetic testing is used to assess genetic risk.

This resource covers one of the most contentious and politically charged topics today. The history of agriculture is traced, from ancient practices to the use and impact of modern technology and the advances of scientific agriculture. The book explains the reactions of scientists, farmers, chefs, and medical doctors to the scientific changes in agriculture, which have ranged from support to skepticism, and shows how different governments around the world view the inclusion of GMOs in food. The unbiased approach allows readers to decide for themselves whether GMOs are the answer to world hunger or could negatively impact the health of the world population.

Fashion is much more than what we wear. In fact, designing, fabricating, and styling clothes is an art form that relies on up-to-the-minute technology. Inventions in Fashion: From Rawhide to Rayon explores the trajectory of fashion from the first clothing worn by primitive humans to scientifically engineered fabrics. The book examines the development of rawhide, blue jeans, sewing machines, and rayon in chronological order. These inventions have applications well beyond the runway, and the book explains these effects, the stories of their inventors, and the ways earlier inventions influenced those that came after.

Humans have created visual representations of the world since the dawn of man. While early painting and sculpture was often rudimentary, the history of visual art is characterized by rapid evolution; today’s artists use high-tech tools to share their vision. Inventions in the Visual Arts: From Cave Paintings to CAD provides a closer look at the development of cave paintings, sculptures, sketch books, cameras, and computer-aided design software. These inventions have surprising links to one another, which the book outlines in chronological order, and have forever changed the landscape of art—and beyond.

An adventurous romp through some of the latest creations coming out of the book-arts world.

Looking at a work of art, like listening to music, becomes a rewarding experience only if the senses are alert to the qualities of the work and to the artist's purpose that brought them into being. The language of sculpture must be learned. In this in-depth study, readers examine the materials, tools, methods, styles, and practices that are involved in sculpting and many of the techniques that have been used by accomplished artists who have contributed to sculpture as a fine art, from the marble gods of Phidias to the mobiles by Alexander Calder.

Drawing is the technique of producing images on a surface, usually paper, by means of marks, usually of ink, graphite, chalk, charcoal, or crayon. Although drawings differ in quality, they have a common purpose--to give visible form to an idea and to express the artist's feeling about it. Besides the way in which they feel about their subjects, artists reflect in their drawing their individual approaches to techniques and tools. In line drawings, for example, form is usually expressed by line only. This volume deals with drawings' aesthetic characteristics, mediums of expression, subject matter.

Introduces more than forty entertaining exercises to help readers unlock the power of the imagination in an innovative guide that demystifies the often confusing creative process, accompanied by hundreds of sample illustrations by the author and other artists, including Maya Lin and R. Crumb.

Teachers, students, and amateur artists will all benefit from the advice of this esteemed educator and fine artist whose book, as described by a colleague, is "a cause célèbre for art education, not only because it meets the urgent professional need, but also because it combines artistic, aesthetic, and instructional considerations in a way which is significantly different from any other text."Encouraging teachers and students to use his suggestions in ways they feel most appropriate, the author (an expert guide and teacher) offers sound advice on methods and techniques for artists at all levels. Using the lessons and methods he employed over the years as an instructor, Kaupelis focuses on solving the problems common to many illustrators, among them successfully developing perspective, contour and modeled drawing, and drawing from memory and projected images. A splendid blend of instruction, analysis, and insights, this volume-one of the most widely read art instruction texts-deserves a place on the shelves of instructors and serious students of art.

Covering everything from creating form through contour drawings to drawing with new technology, this book helps you to zero in on concepts or form ideas that may take your work to a new and more intriguing level.

The fine art of painting is as varied as the life from which it springs. Each artist portrays different aspects of the world. A great artist is able to take some aspect of life and give it depth and meaning. To do this, an artist will make use of the many devices common to painting. These include composition, color, form, and texture. This engaging and dazzling reference covers the elements and principles of design in painting and the various mediums, forms, imagery, subject matter, and symbolism employed, adopted, or created by the painter. Key artworks are reproduced to clarify concepts.

This book focuses on the technology of photography, the camera and its parts, types of lenses, shutters and speeds, films and filters, making photographs, exposing film, lighting, darkroom techniques and processing, printing photographs, and some of the practical applications of the medium.

Fashion is much more than what we wear. In fact, designing, fabricating, and styling clothes is an art form that relies on up-to-the-minute technology. Inventions in Fashion: From Rawhide to Rayon explores the trajectory of fashion from the first clothing worn by primitive humans to scientifically engineered fabrics. The book examines the development of rawhide, blue jeans, sewing machines, and rayon in chronological order. These inventions have applications well beyond the runway, and the book explains these effects, the stories of their inventors, and the ways earlier inventions influenced those that came after.

This book examines music notation, sound, and structure; musical composition and form; the various characteristics of instruments as well as their classification and history, including electronic instruments; musical performance and expression; and styles and genres of music in Western cultures.

Music’s roots begin at the dawn of humanity, when the earliest humans used rudimentary sounds to communicate for survival. Inventions in Music: From the Monochord to MP3s traces the evolution of music through technologies that shaped the medium: the monochord, the phonograph, magnetic tape, and MP3 files. The book describes these inventions in chronological order, considers their influence on one another, and examines these innovations’ impact beyond music.

Medical technology makes us live longer, and new developments in the field are changing our perspectives on health and longevity. Health tech encompasses everything from apps that track the number of steps we take to the AI some doctors now use to diagnose their patients. This collection of articles investigates the ways in which health technology improves our lives, and exposes fraudulent claims that are too good to be true. From robots that perform surgery to virtual reality-powered therapy, health technology is the wave of the future.

In this book, readers learn about the importance of resistance training, which increases strength and endurance while working on your muscles and making them larger. After studying the three main methods of resistance training (free weights, resistance machines, and your own body weight), readers are taught how to pick the best practice for their individual needs and goals and are given sample exercises. The book also teachers students the science behind weight lifting and explains the functions of different muscles so that students are able to understand what parts of their bodies they're training. The title ends with a focus on yoga and stretching to increase flexibility, a key component of strength.

This title provides an overview of the scientific discipline that studies psychological and biological processes and behavior in humans and other animals. It includes coverage of the history of the field, the thought process, memory, theories of personality, and key figures--such as William James, Sigmund Freud, Jean Piaget, B. F. Skinner, and Daniel Kahneman--who helped shape the field.

This book recounts the 1947 government investigation into the motion picture industry by the House Un-American Activities Committee. World War II is over, but tensions between the communist Soviet Union and the US are at an all-time high. In America, communist threats are seen everywhere and a committee is formed in the nation's capital to investigate those threats. Larry Dane Brimner follows the story of 19 men--all from the film industry--who are summoned to appear before the House of Representatives Committee on Un-American Activities. All 19 believe that the committee's investigations into their political views and personal associations are a violation of their First Amendment rights. When the first 10 of these men refuse to give the committee the simple answers it wants, they are cited for contempt of Congress and blacklisted.

The effects of economic decision making are far-reaching. Economics is more than just business-the course of government, society, and more has been determined, to a large degree, by economic players. This comprehensive volume takes a three-pronged approach to introduce readers to the essentials of economics: after providing an overview of basic economic concepts, it chronicles the development of economics as a discipline and then launches into an examination of the various economic systems in existence. Key economic thinkers and critical concepts are spotlighted in sidebars throughout the text.

Much more than a history atlas, this book drops you right in the heart of the action, as 130 detailed maps tell the story of pivotal episodes in world history, from the first human migrations out of Africa to the race for space. After the foreword written by renowned broadcaster and historian Peter Snow, purpose-made regional and global maps present the history of the world as it happened, charting how events traced patterns on land and ocean - patterns of exploration, discovery, or conquest that created powerful empires, fragile colonies, or terrifying theatres of war. An interplay of text and graphics leads you around the page so that you can follow the story of civilizations through ancient, medieval, and modern times. But not every page is full of maps. At key points in History of the World Map by Map, broad, sweeping introductions provide a chance to step back and look at entire periods, such as World War 2, or to explore overarching themes, such as the Industrial Revolution. Picture spreads, meanwhile, focus on epoch-defining moments or developments, such as fascism and communism, and the invention of printing.

While the British became the dominant colonial power in South Asia, the Dutch, Portuguese, and French also initially vied for control of the region. This volume traces the rise of European influence in South Asia with an in-depth discussion of the path to colonialism and various facets of colonial rule. It contains a history of resistance to colonial rule, discusses how the people of South Asia won their independence, and how explains how the region evolved after independence-including the partition of India and Bangladesh's separation from Pakistan. Readers will come away with an understanding.

Much of East Asia and Southeast Asia were unaffected by colonialism until the 19th century, when European nations, the United States, and Japan spread their influence and control throughout the continent of Asia. This resource traces the impact of foreign rule on the region, gaining insight into the many wars and policies that affected the local people, economy, and society. Though most of the modern-day countries of East and Southeast Asia gained independence in the wake of World War II, when Japan was defeated and the Allied powers began to lose control of their colonies, the impact of colon.

Colonialism in the Middle East came from within for many centuries, as the Ottoman Empire dominated the region until the end of World War I. Great Britain and France imposed mandates over several of the Arab provinces, beginning a trend of Western interference across the region. This resource documents the complex colonial history of the Middle East, the establishment of autonomous countries across the region, and the struggles each country faced in the early postcolonial years. Important events and key figures are documented, illustrating how the region's colonial history continues to affect.

By the early twentieth century, nearly the entire continent of Africa had been divided up between European powers. This volume traces the history of colonialism in each of Africa's regions, as well as the fight for independence and the challenges of establishing viable nations after years languishing under the colonial yoke. The political, economic, and social elements of colonialism are all explored. The title also delves into the patterns in European-African interactions that led to colonialism, including the slave trade and the ivory trade. A comprehensive, wide-ranging reference volume.

The colonization of Latin America and the Caribbean followed the European discovery of the Americas. As the first wave of Western colonialism, the majority of the nations of Latin America had already won their independence from Spain and Portugal before colonialism had fully taken root in other parts of the world. But colonialism lasted longer in the Caribbean and its legacy lingers in Latin America. Special attention is paid to colonial society, which bore little resemblance to the indigenous societies but was a major influence on Latin American societies. An indispensible resource for students of history or Latin America.

Through wide-ranging conversations with nine African American women, several now in their nineties with decades of untold stories, we hear what ignited and fueled their activism, as Bell vividly captures their inspiring voices.

Inside Coding teaches readers exactly what they need to become great programmers. Whether they want to boost their coding skills for school, work, or just as a hobby, this comprehensive and vibrant guide introduces the tools, terms, and concepts that will help students grow from beginners into experienced developers. Simple explanations, an engaging design, and step-by-step instructions ease readers through the features of the Python programming language, providing them with everything they need to write code in the real world.

Originally conceived as a way for people to stay connected, share photos and post information, social media has since evolved. Today, it is so much more than a fun communication tool. Sometimes it can become a destructive weapon when it is exploited by the wrong people. In this book, you will discover how social media is used as a weapon and what you can do to protect yourself.

This book chronicles how since the Neolithic era of the Stone Age, agricultural tools evolved from pointed digging sticks to electron microscopes. Weeds evolved into wheat, carrots, and more as humans selected and designed foods. People farmed sustainably since the last Ice Age with fire and fish traps, and more recently, agriculture has evolved to produce more for a growing worldwide population. Learning about problems from the past and the future that agricultural technology is meant to solve will help readers understand how applying critical thinking can change the world.

Modern medicine was no accident, except when it was. The history of medical innovation, which spans centuries, is filled with killer diseases, scientific inquiry, accidental discoveries, and brilliant machines. Readers will embark on a journey across time from Ancient Egypt to the twenty-first century, and learn about the creative mistakes and ingenious solutions physicians, scientists, and regular people devised to explore and heal the human body. As we prepare for the Next Generation Science Standards to enter our schools, curious minds will enjoy delving into the history of medical innovation.

Medical technology makes us live longer, and new developments in the field are changing our perspectives on health and longevity. Health tech encompasses everything from apps that track the number of steps we take to the AI some doctors now use to diagnose their patients. This collection of articles investigates the ways in which health technology improves our lives, and exposes fraudulent claims that are too good to be true. From robots that perform surgery to virtual reality-powered therapy, health technology is the wave of the future.

In 1995, the term "disruptive innovation" was coined to describe innovations that disrupt and threaten existing markets and consumer habits. Since then, we've played witness to how new companies have altered, and threatened, key industries such as hospitality and the taxi industry. These articles explore the growth of two of the most prominent "disruptive" tech companies, Uber and Airbnb, and how competitors and regulators have responded to the changing tides.

Fashion is much more than what we wear. In fact, designing, fabricating, and styling clothes is an art form that relies on up-to-the-minute technology. Inventions in Fashion: From Rawhide to Rayon explores the trajectory of fashion from the first clothing worn by primitive humans to scientifically engineered fabrics. The book examines the development of rawhide, blue jeans, sewing machines, and rayon in chronological order. These inventions have applications well beyond the runway, and the book explains these effects, the stories of their inventors, and the ways earlier inventions influenced those that came after.

Humans have created visual representations of the world since the dawn of man. While early painting and sculpture was often rudimentary, the history of visual art is characterized by rapid evolution; today’s artists use high-tech tools to share their vision. Inventions in the Visual Arts: From Cave Paintings to CAD provides a closer look at the development of cave paintings, sculptures, sketch books, cameras, and computer-aided design software. These inventions have surprising links to one another, which the book outlines in chronological order, and have forever changed the landscape of art—and beyond.

Music’s roots begin at the dawn of humanity, when the earliest humans used rudimentary sounds to communicate for survival. Inventions in Music: From the Monochord to MP3s traces the evolution of music through technologies that shaped the medium: the monochord, the phonograph, magnetic tape, and MP3 files. The book describes these inventions in chronological order, considers their influence on one another, and examines these innovations’ impact beyond music.

Lexi's story of cyberbullying is a shocking depiction of a young teenager's torment in the world of online harassment. Lexi is ganged up on by a few girls over a misunderstanding in the schoolyard. The incident escalates on social media, local chat boards, and gossip sites. In a twist of karmic fate, Lexi turns the tables on her former tormentors with one touch of a button.