KISJ MS Library

NAVIGATE THE PRESENT, CONSIDER THE FUTURE ...

When you go onto university, you will need to find things for yourself.  University libraries are huge, with most having hundreds of databases and millions of books. 

Learning to use databases will help make your transition to university so much easier.

Britannica School

Britannica School is a citable, online learning resource trusted by teachers and pupils. The information in Britannica School is aligned to the national curriculum, updated daily and spans a range of media, including video, images and audio content.

Britannica ImageQuest

Britannica® ImageQuest™ – millions of royalty free images on one site and from 60 of the world's most respected image libraries. ImageQuest draws on image libraries from the likes of Getty and the National Portrait Gallery to provide high-quality, trustworthy images to teachers and students.

JSTOR

A digital library collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

This is most suitable for students who are studying academic subjects such as AP courses as well as grades 11 and 12.

Google Scholar 

This is Google but with an academic focus.

From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

EBSCO databases

EBSCO is a platform that hosts a selection of databases. At KISJ we subscribe to the following databases through EBSCO:

• MAS Ultra (School edition)  - Social Sciences and English

• Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - All subjects

• Newspaper source - All subjects

• TOPIC SEARCH - All subjects

• Health Source (consumer edition) - Science, Mathematics, Psychology and Physical Education

• Topic overviews 6-12 - All subjects