Skip to Main Content

KISJ HS Library: Research Tools

This is the guide to the High School Library at Korea International School Jeju.

NAVIGATE THE PRESENT, CONSIDER THE FUTURE ...

When you go onto university, you will need to find things for yourself.  University libraries are huge, with most having hundreds of databases and millions of books. 

Learning to use databases will help make your transition to university so much easier.

What is a research database?

A research database is a collection of information from published sources.

  • Magazines

  • Professional journals

  • Newspapers

  • Encyclopedias

  • Reference books

Often, the database will give you the entire article or book chapter (full-text). The library has to pay money for these databases; this is why you need to use a username and password to access them. Some databases are very broad, and therefore cover many topics.  Whilst, other databases are very specific.

Why should I use a database?

HS Research Tools

 

Resources | Britannica Digital Learning
Britannica School - High School Level
Utilize this resource for background research and fact checking with topic overview articles in all subjects. 
  • 130K+ Fact-Checked Articles created by subject experts/academics and carefully reviewed by editors.
  • 60K+ Images and Videos
  • 1,700+ Informational Graphics and Charts
  • 1,100+ Biographies

 

Britannica Image Quest | District of Columbia Public Library
Britannica Image Quest
Database with 3.5 million safe, diverse, and rights-cleared images, many of which are primary sources. Access to 64 collections not freely available on the web:
  • Getty Images, Dorling Kindersley Images, Associated Press, etc.
*Can also be accessed through your Britannica School account under, "Your Britannica Resources"
EBSCO Explora
Database providing a mix of peer-reviewed articles and topic overviews for background and in-depth research. Sources include entries from encyclopedias, biographies, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and e-books.
JSTOR
More than 2,000 academic journals, and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources in a variety of academic disciplines for your in-depth research needs. 

 

*Look for database login information after signing into your Destiny account or ask your librarians.

*Britannica databases will log in automatically while on campus but will need the login information found on your Destiny account off campus.

Reliable open access databases offering full text peer-reviewed sources for your research needs:

GENERAL
  • Base Search - One of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 300 million documents from more than 10,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals - A community curated online directory that indexes and provides open access (OA) to peer-reviewed journals.
  • CORE - CORE has the largest collection of OA articles available. It allows users to search more than 219 million OA articles. While most of these link to the full-text article on the original publisher's site, or to a PDF available for download, five million records are hosted directly on CORE. Also offers datasets.
  • JURN - Open access to millions of journals, articles, and theses.
  • Indiana University and Purdue Research Database
ECONOMICS
HEALTH
  • MedlinePlus - U.S. National Library of Medicine.
  • PubMed Central (PMC) - Is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
  • PubPsych - Psychology database of open access journals.
  • CogPrints - An electronic archive for Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, and Anthropology.
SCIENCE
  • Science Open - Offers OA to more than 74 million articles in all areas of science. 
  • WorldWide Science - Global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals.
  • SciElo - Open access to international scientific papers and research.
  • Analytical Digital Sciences Library - A collection of instructional resources developed by the analytical science community​​​​​​.
  • PLOS - A nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
 
Destiny Account - Find fiction and non-fiction sources in print format using the HS Library's online catalog.

 

MAS Ultra – Libraries Linking Idaho
EBSCO Explora's MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed for high school libraries, MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text reference database of popular magazines and e-books covering many subjects, including history, science and health. It also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. Find it by filtering MAS Ultra as a source type when searching on EBSCO Explora.

 
New App Opens Up Digital Library Options for K-12 Schools - Signals AZ
SORA
Find over 4,000 popular and educational magazine titles with SORA Magazines. Titles in a variety of languages including Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, German, French, and more.

*Look for database login information after signing into your Destiny account or ask your librarians. SORA usernames and passwords are your student ID numbers. 

Newspaper Map
Newspaper map is a free web app that helps you find over 10,000 of the world's online newspapers.
The Korea Times - Home | Facebook The Korea Times - Delivers the latest information on all events and stories taking place in Korea. Find it updated daily in your HS Library.